Julia Fallon
Executive Director
202-715-6636 x700
[email protected]

SETDA Announces 2024 Board Members and Officers

January 3, 2024 (Washington, DC) SETDA, the principal non-profit association representing U.S. state and territorial educational technology and digital learning leaders, is pleased to announce its 2024 Board of Directors and Officers. Board officers assumed their one-year terms on January 1, 2024.



  • Chair: Mindy Fiscus, Illinois State Board of Education
  • Chair-Elect: Brad Hagg, Indiana Department of Education
  • Past Chair: Rick Gaisford, Utah State Board of Education
  • Secretary: A.J. Coté, Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
  • Treasurer: Dorann Avey, Nebraska Department of Education


  • Doug Casey, Connecticut State Commission for Educational Technology
  • DeLilah Collins, Colorado Department of Education
  • John Chadwick New Mexico Public Education Department
  • Sean McDonough, NYSCATE, Affiliate Position
  • Carla Wade, CoSN, Emeritus Position

In this new term, Melinda Fiscus assumes the position of Chair, with Brad Hagg as Chair-Elect. Rick Gaisford transitions to the role of Past Chair. A.J. Coté takes on the responsibilities of Secretary, and Dorann Avey continues her role as Treasurer.

Returning to the board is Doug Casey, who will serve in the At-Large position. We welcome new board members John Chadwick and Sean McDonough, who assumes the Affiliate position on the board. Carla Wade, a well-respected former state member from Oregon, continues in the Emeritus position alongside at-large board members Doug Casey, DeLilah Collins, John Chadwick, and Sean McDonough.

“In 2023, SETDA developed countless articles and webinars, elevated conversations around emerging trends, and brought cybersecurity discussions all the way to the White House—all while leading the development of the National Education Technology Plan. I think it’s fair to say this was a year of unprecedented impact. I am excited to move into the new year with our amazing board who are dedicated to supporting all members of our SETDA community as we continue to drive conversations forward and forge partnerships that use our shared voice to advance equitable and innovative education,” said Mindy Fiscus, SETDA Board Chair.

“SETDA stands at a pivotal juncture as we begin 2024, and the role of our esteemed board is absolutely instrumental in steering us towards success. The dedication and expertise they bring to the table are paramount as we embark on this crucial chapter. Their leadership is not just appreciated but vital to shaping the trajectory of SETDA’s impact, and I eagerly anticipate a year of collective triumph and progress.” said Julia Fallon, SETDA Executive Director.

SETDA’s Board of Directors was elected in November at the 2023 Leadership Summit and Ed Forum.


SETDA is the principal association representing U.S. state and territorial educational technology and digital learning leaders. Through a broad array of programs and advocacy, SETDA builds member capacity and engages partners to empower the education community in leveraging technology for learning, teaching, and school operations. For more information, please visit

© 2024 SETDA, All Rights Reserved