State Leader of the Year Award

The State Leader of the Year (SLY) Award recognizes an active SETDA member who has exhibited outstanding leadership by advancing educational technology in their state or collaborating with peers through SETDA initiatives. A SLY nominee is someone who affects positive change for the association and its members and furthers SETDA’s mission by engaging with the broader education community at the regional, national, or international levels.

Nomination Process
To be eligible, SLY nominees must work within a state education agency or an affiliated state agency. State and affiliate members may submit nominations to Tera Daniels during the award submission window. Submit SETDA member name, state, and a description of their contributions and impact to Tera Daniels by COB on Thursday, September 22, 2022.


2021 Julia Legg
West Virginia Department of Education

Julia Legg is the State E-rate Coordinator in the Office of Data Analysis & Research at the West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE). She has been in education for the last 24 years as a fourth-generation educator. She holds teaching licenses in English and School Library Media, along with a Masters’ Degree in Instructional Technology Leadership and is a licensed school administrator. Her roles have included graduate-level instruction, high school, middle school, elementary and virtual instruction.

In her 16 years with the WVDE, she has provided professional development as a Technology Integration Specialist coordinator and served in other roles including supporting the School Library Media Specialists across the state. In her current role, she supports broadband initiatives as a member of the state Broadband Enhancement Council Education Committee, administers the statewide strategic technology planning initiative, manages state master contracts for school networking and Internet access, and provides technology support to school districts, along with filing assistance and support to her districts for E-rate and the Emergency Connectivity Fund.

Mrs. Legg is the former Chair of the State Action Committee within the State Education Technology Directors Association (SETDA), a leadership member of the E-rate Collaborative group, the board liaison to the Strategic Partnerships committee, as well as holding membership in the State E-rate Coordinator Alliance (SECA).

Current and previous SLY award recipients at 2021 virtual Leadership Summit

SLY members

Current and previous SLY award recipients at 2020 virtual Leadership Summit









SETDA State Leader of the Year Recipients 

2020 Sandy O’Neil New Jersey Department of Education
2019 Julia Fallon Washington State Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
2018 Jerome Browning Utah Education and Telehealth Network
2017 Stan Freeda New Hampshire Department of Education
2016 Candice Dodson Indiana Department of Education
2015 Peter Drescher Vermont Agency of Education
2014 Laurence (Larry) Cocco New Jersey Department of Education
2013 Jeff Mao Maine Department of Education
2012 Wayne Hartschuh Delaware Center of Educational Technology
2011 Stephen Sanders Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
2010 Carla Wade Oregon Department of Education
2009 Rick Gaisford Utah State Board of Education
2008 Jayne Moore Maryland State Department of Education
2007 Lan Neugent Virginia Department of Education
2006 Melinda Maddox Alabama State Department of Education
2005 Michael Golden Pennsylvania Department of Education
2004 Anita Givens Texas Education Agency
2003 Brenda Williams West Virginia Department of Education
© 2022 SETDA, All Rights Reserved