SETDA Header Press Releases

Julia Fallon
Executive Director
[email protected] 


Press Release: SETDA Honors Julia Legg, West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) with 2021 State Leader of the Year Award

November 10, 2021 (Washington D.C.) – SETDA, the principal membership association of U.S. state and territorial educational technology leaders, announced Julia Legg at their recent Leadership Summit as the 2021 recipient of the SETDA State Leader of the Year Award (SLY). Ms. Legg accepted the award during the 2021 SETDA Leadership Summit: Envisioning a New Era of State Leadership.

Julia Legg currently serves as the State E-rate Coordinator in the Office of Data Analysis & Research at the West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE). She has been in education for the last 24 years as a fourth-generation educator. She holds teaching licenses in English and School Library Media, along with a Masters’ Degree in Instructional Technology Leadership, and is a licensed school administrator.

In her 16 years with the WVDE, she has provided professional development as a Technology Integration Specialist coordinator and served in other roles, including supporting the School Library Media Specialists across the state. In her current role, she supports broadband initiatives as a member of the state Broadband Enhancement Council Education Committee, administers the statewide strategic technology planning initiative, manages state master contracts for school networking and Internet access, and provides technical support to school districts, along with filing assistance and support to her districts for E-rate and the Emergency Connectivity Fund (ECF).

Mrs. Legg is the former Chair of the State Action Committee within the State Education Technology Directors Association (SETDA), a leading member of the E-rate Collaborative group, the board liaison to the Strategic Partnerships committee, as well as holding membership in the State E-rate Coordinator Alliance (SECA).

In her nomination of Ms. Legg for the award, Mindy Fiscus, Learning Technology Center of Illinois noted that “Julia works tirelessly to advocate for students and does everything in her power to make sure they have the best technological experience to enhance learning. She takes on this goal both in her State but also at the national level, participating in multiple national associations. She works hard to support District staff and has been their go-to person for everything E-Rate.

Fiscus further added, “Her actions bring millions of dollars into the state of West Virginia with her continuous support through webinars, email, and phone calls. She also prepares consortium applications for the state for both Categories of E-Rate and the Emergency Connectivity Fund. Without her efforts, many students across West Virginia would have been without access to learning, especially in this new post-pandemic environment.”

“Julia Legg has been a dedicated SETDA member, she recently served as the Chair for the State Action Committee, and also currently serves as a SETDA Board Member. She contributes thoughtfully in our meetings and discussions and has often provided problem-solving and organizational skills when needed,” noted Julia Fallon, Executive Director of SETDA. “She collaborates with other state members and shares successes or experiences she has in West Virginia. She is also a foundational member of the SETDA E-Rate Collaborative. On behalf of myself, and the entire SETDA membership, it’s our honor to name Julia Legg as our recipient of the 2021 State Leader of the Year Award.



The State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA) is the principal association representing U.S. state and territorial educational technology and digital learning leaders. Through a broad array of programs and advocacy, SETDA builds member capacity and engages partners to empower the education community in leveraging technology for learning, teaching, and school operations.

For more information, please visit our website or Twitter @setda

© 2024 SETDA, All Rights Reserved