Julia Fallon
Executive Director
202-715-6636 x700
[email protected]

SETDA Announces 2023 Board Members and Officers

January 4, 2023 (Washington, DC) – The State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA) – the principal non-profit association representing U.S. state and territorial educational technology and digital learning leaders – today announced its 2023 Board of Directors and Officers. Board officers serve one-year terms beginning January 1, 2023.



  • Chair: Rick Gaisford, Utah State Board of Education
  • Chair-Elect: Mindy Fiscus, Illinois State Board of Education
  • Past Chair: Doug Casey, Connecticut State Commission for Educational Technology
  • Secretary: Brad Hagg, Indiana Department of Education
  • Treasurer: Dorann Avey, Nebraska Department of Education


  • Stan Freeda, New Hampshire Department of Education
  • Ann-Marie Mapes, Michigan Department of Education
  • Janice Mertes, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
  • Carla Wade, Consortium of School Networking (Emeritus Member)

For 2023, Rick Gaisford moves from the Chair-Elect position to the Chair and is joined by Doug Casey as Past Chair. Reelected for a second term, Mindy Fiscus moves from the Secretary position to Chair-Elect. Dorann Avey moves into the officer role of Treasurer and is joined by newly elected board director Brad Hagg, as Secretary. Longtime former state member from Oregon, Carla Wade joins the board in the Emeritus position with other at-large board members, Stan Freeda, Ann-Marie Mapes, and Janice Mertes.

“This past year saw SETDA providing leadership on a host of current issues in education, including cybersecurity, OER policies and practices, releasing the State EdTech Trends report, data modernization and interoperability, and how states measure digital equity,” said incoming SETDA Board Chair, Rick Gaisford. “I look forward to working with our amazing board members, state education agency members, affiliates, and corporate members to continue leading and guiding digital learning across the country.”

“Congratulations to our incoming board and board officers. The SETDA board of directors are a dedicated, experienced, and highly knowledgeable group of state members who are well-positioned to provide strategy, governance, and oversight while helping to expand SETDA’s mission to further bring digital equity to all students. I look forward to their expert guidance as we continue the work on our SETDA’s strategic initiatives, including the National Educational Technology Plan (NETP) project,” noted Julia Fallon, SETDA Executive Director. “I also want to thank our outgoing Past Chair and Emeritus board member Eric Hileman for his leadership and service.”

In April 2022, the SETDA membership voted to update SETDA governance policies to align director terms with SETDA’s fiscal year (January-December). As a result, SETDA’s Board of Directors was elected in November at the 2022 Leadership Summit and Ed Forum.



The State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA) is the principal association representing U.S. state and territorial educational technology and digital learning leaders. Through a broad array of programs and advocacy, SETDA builds member capacity and engages partners to empower the education community in leveraging technology for learning, teaching, and school operations.

For more information, please visit our website or on LinkedIn or on Twitter @SETDA

© 2023 SETDA, All Rights Reserved