Douglas Levin
Executive Director
202-715-6636 x700
[email protected]

 Press Release

State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA) Announces 2013-2014 Board Members and Officers

August 20, 2013 (Washington, D.C.) – The State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA) today announced its Board of Directors and Officers for the 2013-14 year:

  • Melinda Stanley, Kansas State Department of Education (Chair)
  • Neill Kimrey, North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (Chair-Elect)
  • Cathy Poplin, Arizona Department of Education (Treasurer)
  • Peter Drescher, Vermont Department of Education (Secretary)
  • Laurence Cocco, New Jersey Department of Education
  • Julia Fallon, WA Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Rick Gaisford, Utah State Office of Education
  • Karen Kahan, Texas Education Agency
  • David Walddon, Office of the CIO/WA Office of Financial Management

Continuing her leadership role in helping to establish a new strategic plan for the association and commitment to ensuring its implementation, Melinda Stanley of the Kansas State Office of Education will serve as SETDA Chair. Neill Kimrey was elected to the newly created position of Chair-Elect. The new position reflects a desire to ensure leadership continuity and create a clear succession path on the Board, and came as a result of the passage of a refresh of SETDA’s by-laws by the membership at the association’s annual convocation and business meeting.

Rick Gaisford was re-elected to the board for his second consecutive term, while Julia Fallon was elected to her first term on the SETDA Board after years of service to the association, including most recently as co-chair of a standing membership committee.

“A hallmark of SETDA’s strength is its commitment to state leadership in education,” stated Douglas Levin, SETDA Executive Director. “The SETDA Board of Directors is excited to work with state and national leaders to advance school improvement and reform efforts in the states through the implementation of smart technology policy and practice.”

SETDA priorities include an ongoing focus on ensuring robust access to broadband for learning in and out of school, helping states effectively transition to online student assessment and digital instructional materials, and building the capacity of educators to meet individual student needs. These topics and more will be the focus of the annual SETDA Leadership Summit scheduled for November 3-6 in the Washington, DC area.

Founded in 2001, the State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA) is the principal non-profit membership association representing U.S. state and territorial educational technology leaders. Our mission is to build and increase the capacity of state and national leaders to improve education through technology policy and practice. For more information, please visit:

# # #

© 2022 SETDA, All Rights Reserved